Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS is a crucial stage of learning that includes a child’s time in pre-school and the first year at school (Reception class). This is why in for September 2020 we now have EYFS on their own spectacular freeflowing environment. 

This provides a range of opportunities for pupils to be challenged and supported in all areas of learning.  A balance of child initiated and adult led activities form our provision in EYFS and independence is actively encouraged in all areas of the curriculum. The skills of reading, writing and mathematics are developed in small groups, through song and in 1-1 work with an adult. The seven key areas of learning in the EYFS, split into prime areas and specific areas, are:

Prime areas of learning:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

Specific areas of learning:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design